View topic - Transmission control module

Register    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Topical Discussion » Drivetrain and Gears




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Transmission control module
 Post Posted: December 25th, 2006, 8:48 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: December 14th, 2006, 2:06 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Montana
Has anyone replaced their transmission control module? Had any transmission related issues that might relate to the computer? Sorry if this seems like a wierd or random question, but I've been having some problems that I'm trying to solve that I think are transmission related, but not the transmission itself. I'm starting to take stabs in the dark at this one because no auto shops in town will tell me a staight answer and everyone has their own opinions, but no facts.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: RE: Transmission control module
 Post Posted: December 25th, 2006, 11:45 pm 
Offline
Phreak
Phreak
User avatar

Joined: May 5th, 2003, 10:34 pm
Posts: 1422
Location: Tucson, AZ
What symptoms are you having?


Asking stupid questions is much easier than correcting dumb mistakes.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: December 26th, 2006, 11:28 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: December 14th, 2006, 2:06 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Montana
no power due to late shifting or not shifting at slow speeds in offroad conditions(snow or mud). Doesn't seem to want to hit top speed without running really high rpms on the highway.
Replaced the TPS, no difference.
The MAF sensor has been running lean 85%-89%, replaced it and it started shifting erratically in second gear. It would shift into 2nd and then drop back to first, up to second, back to first and so on. I couldn't go more than 25mph at the time. Put the old MAF sensor in because it ran smoother. Now I'm on to the TCM...


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: December 27th, 2006, 1:14 am 
Offline
Phreak
Phreak
User avatar

Joined: May 5th, 2003, 10:34 pm
Posts: 1422
Location: Tucson, AZ
Can you check for any codes?


Asking stupid questions is much easier than correcting dumb mistakes.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: December 27th, 2006, 3:19 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: December 14th, 2006, 2:06 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Montana
I've had everything checked and there have been no codes.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: December 27th, 2006, 9:57 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: January 26th, 2003, 9:56 pm
Posts: 1799
Location: long island, NY
Did you drive through any mud or water holes recently?
And is the ATC light or any other lights on?
Something may have gotten wet that shouldnt have.
Or did you wire up reverse lights directly to the stock wiring without a relay?


If stickers add horsepower then my truck would run 9 second quarter miles..

Pic site 1: UPDATED 1/01/05-http://www.picturetrail.com/O1SalsaX
pic site 2: updated 10/24/04http://www.picturetrail.com/O1SalsaX1


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: December 27th, 2006, 12:58 pm 
Offline
Phreak
Phreak
User avatar

Joined: May 5th, 2003, 10:34 pm
Posts: 1422
Location: Tucson, AZ
Good point Ken. I think someone else had a similar problem recently and it turns out he had some wet connectors somewhere. I'll go research it.


Asking stupid questions is much easier than correcting dumb mistakes.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: December 27th, 2006, 2:58 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: December 14th, 2006, 2:06 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Montana
Thats a good idea, but I haven't been in any deep water or mud in a long time. Its all sand and dirt where I am except in spring. I have been in some deep snow, but the problems have been occuring long before that.
to answer your other questions:
-I havent had any lights up for a long time. I have had lights on before after a long water hole or some mud, but I have always restarted the vehicle and they turned off. As far back as I can remember the ATC light has never been on.
-My reverse lights are stock.
I do however have a winch and fog lights up front. The winch is wired directly to the battery, the fog lights are connected to the stock fog light wires.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: December 28th, 2006, 1:23 am 
Offline
Phreak
Phreak
User avatar

Joined: May 5th, 2003, 10:34 pm
Posts: 1422
Location: Tucson, AZ
OK, I'm gunna ask a dumb question, so don't be offended. I had this happen after the dealer changed my rear main seal. Have you checked tranny fluid level? It will do weird things when it's low.

Also, maybe a vacuum leak somewhere? I'm not up on the Xterra trans at all. Do they still use vacuum modulators on transmissions? I'm guessing not as I don't recall seeing any vacuums line while I have been under there. It's probably all computer controlled. I'm just throwing out ideas.


Asking stupid questions is much easier than correcting dumb mistakes.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: December 28th, 2006, 3:20 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: December 14th, 2006, 2:06 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Montana
definitely not a dumb question. But the answer is yes, I have checked the fluid. It is where it is supposed to be. I had thought about doing a trans flush, but I am doubtful that it will make any significant change in the way it is acting.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: December 29th, 2006, 1:13 pm 
Offline
Phreak
Phreak
User avatar

Joined: May 5th, 2003, 10:34 pm
Posts: 1422
Location: Tucson, AZ
How about a vacuum leak, can you throw a gauge on it to check? Does the X use a MAP sensor? If the computer is confused it may do strange things with the shifting.


Asking stupid questions is much easier than correcting dumb mistakes.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: December 29th, 2006, 1:55 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: December 14th, 2006, 2:06 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Montana
Not sure.. I'll look into that. Thanks


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: January 20th, 2007, 9:16 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: January 20th, 2007, 9:00 pm
Posts: 6
I own a 2002 supercharged xterra and I just recently bought it with 70000 miles and it shifts rough into second. please help!


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

Board index » Topical Discussion » Drivetrain and Gears


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron